What are the grounds and residency requirements to file for an uncontested or "no-fault" divorce in Massachusetts?

  1. One or both parties meet the residency requirement to file for divorce in Massachusetts. If the grounds for divorce occurred in Massachusetts, one spouse must be a resident of Massachusetts. If the grounds for divorce occurred outside Massachusetts, the one spouse must be a resident of Massachusetts for at least one (1) year at the time of filing.
  2. The filing party (or both parties, if filing jointly) confirm the irretrievable breakdown of the marriage and there is no chance of reconciliation.
  3. A Marital Agreement (MSA) is highly recommended if minor children are involved, and required by law for Joint No-fault Divorce (Divorce type 1A).
  4. You must file an official copy (certified) of your marriage certificate with a raised seal when you file your divorce. You may wish to contact the Vital Records Department in the state where you were married for more information.

Self-Prepared

Massachusetts Divorce $59.00
MA MSA $39.00
MA Divorce & MSA Combo (best value) $89.00

Try before you buyStart Now